Strategic Initiatives

Strategic Initiatives that support our goal of being a community of choice.

 

Sustainable Innovations

Engaging all sectors of the Greater Dubuque area to educate, advocate and innovate, Sustainable Innovations helps facilitate economic growth in the smartest and most sustainable way, Innovations in bio-energy, broadband technology, waste management, energy efficiency, solar energy, advanced environmental manufacturing and consumer/citizen engagement are already underway in the Greater Dubuque region.

If you have a strategic initiative that can advance the environmental and economic opportunities in the Greater Dubuque region or just want to learn more about this unique initiative, contact Dave Lyons by email or call 563-557-9049.

 

Child Care

To clearly understand the barrier that child care is creating for families and our community workforce needs, Greater Dubuque Development commissioned Levi Architecture to complete a comprehensive survey of employers and child care providers in the Greater Dubuque region that analyzes the needs and challenges in more detail. Greater Dubuque Development is aggressively working with employers, providers, local government, and non-profits to find and implement innovative solutions based on the study’s findings.

Download the Greater Dubuque Child Care Analysis.

 

Housing

We know housing is critical to our continued growth as a community. Greater Dubuque Development continues to collaborate with cities, developers, and builders to create new, affordable middle-market housing for the region’s growing workforce. To affirm a housing need, Greater Dubuque Development funded a 2022 Workforce Housing Study.

Download the 2022 Workforce Housing Study.

 

Broadband Expansion

We work with public and private sector partners to expand broadband in Dubuque. By streamlining and simplifying processes, the initiative has doubled conduit, quadrupled fiber, and increased the number of providers in our community from two to ten.


 

Greater Dubuque Broadband Providers & Contact Information

Bernard Telephone
Kyle Manders  
kyle@bernardtel.net
563-879-3203

CS Technologies  
Jim Neyen
Jim@cstech.com
563-556-0499

Cascade Communications
David Gibson
dave@cascadecomm.com
563-852-3710

Centurylink
Brent Giese
Brent.Giese@CenturyLink.com
563-355-2592

ComElec 
Keith Brimeyer    
keith.brimeyer@yousq.net
563-513-8984

Frontier Communications*
Freeport, IL Office
855-507-2765
*Serving East Dubuque and NE Illinois

ImOn Communications
Rick Thompson
Rick.Thompson@ImOn.net
563-239-9111

 

Maquoketa Valley Electric Cooperative  
Jeff Geistkemper
Jgeistkemper@mvec.com
319-820-0358

Mediacom Communication  
Donovan DeMay
ddemay@mediacomcc.com
563-584-0589 (ext. 3368)

Sand Prairie*
Elizabeth, IL Office
800-858-5522
*Serving East Dubuque and NE Illinois

Unite Private Networks  
Brad Knudson
brad.knudson@upnfiber.com
515-518-7623

Windstream
Dan Wilson
daniel.wilson@windstream.com
319-790-7827

Wisconsin Independent Network
Tom Schuchart
tom.schuchart@wintechnology.com
920-840-6861